





Annual Awards Luncheon

Saturday, January 20, 2024 University of San Diego La Gran Terraza 2023 was a year of great progress and achievement for our members. We also experienced significant loss.

As we gather to celebrate, we also honor and remember two people who passed away recently. Their friendship and support will be greatly missed across our community.

Dick Doyle RIP 20 December 2023

Memorial Service 26 January 2024 at 10:00 am at All Hallows in La Jolla.

An IEEE Life Senior Member, Dick Doyle served twice on the IEEE Board of Directors as Region 6 Director from 1987 to 1988 and as Division VI Director from 2003 to 2004. He was a highly valued member of the San Diego Section. He was always gracious and generous with his time and advice and was a positive and effective force for good.

Dick had been involved in many IEEE activities since joining in 1978. He served in various volunteer leadership positions for the San Diego Section, as well as on Regional Activities, now Member and Geographic Activities, and Technical Activities Boards. Dick was also an active volunteer for the IEEE Reliability Society, serving as President from 1995 to 1996.

Bill Denke RIP 6 January 2024

Memorial Service 27 January 2024 at 10:30 am at St. Paul's Lutheran Church in San Diego.

Bill was instrumental in the health and success of the Life Members Affinity Group in San Diego, organizing a wide variety of compelling technical talks and valuable professional development opportunities for members. Topics ranged from interdisciplinary workshops that combined microwaves with 3D printing of woodwind musical instruments to talks about the nitty gritty details of what it takes to be a successful business technology professional. His mentorship and leadership made a lasting impact in San Diego.

2024 Honorees

Gabriel Alcala Hassan Baklou Charles Bird Mike Bryant Upkar Dhaliwal Yossef Ehrlichman **Douglass Evans** Jack Gallegos Gerald Gerace Terry Hache Larry Hamerman Kathy Havashi Bill Ishii Pirazh Khorramshahi John Kroon Gregory Laugle Alvin Loke Vitaliv Lomakin Upal Mahbub Saeed Manshadi Ananya Mukherjee Bansi Patel David Robie Kamala Sadagopan Sudip Saha Jeff Shi Vaishnav Srinivas Stephen Stubberud Lei Sun Naveed Oazi Nazmul Hasan William Torre Lai Xu Zhensheng Zhang

PAST CHAIRS

IEEE was founded in 1963 through the merger of AIEE and IRE. We honor and thank the following Past Chairs of the San Diego Section.

AIEE
1939 L.M. Klauber
1940 F.F. Evenson
1941 Walter L. Bryant
1942 Clem J. Nevitt
1944 Willis T. Johnson
1945 Willis Konline
1946 R.R. Ritchie
1947 Charles F.
McCabe
1948 G.E. Jenner
1949 Herbert A. Corde
1950 Joseph P. Sinnot
1951 J. Paul Conner
1952 Ormus L. Doolitt
1953 Aylmer H. Keith
1954 I.E. McDougal
1955 E.F. Kotnik
1956 E.B. Love
1957 B.A. Weiss
1958 L.L. LaZelle
1959 M.R. Marston
1960 J.W. Crooks, Jr.
1961 L.R. Knerr
1962 R.W. Kinslow
1963 Alvord Paull

<u>IRE</u>

1945 Edwin B. Robinson 1946 David C. Kalbfell 1947 Rawson Bennett 1948 Clyde Tirrell 1949 Louise G. Trolese 1950 Everett W. Thatcher 1951 John P. Day 1952 Victor Welge 1953 Chesney R. Moe 1954 William S. Ivans 1955 Francis X. Byrnes 1956 Robert A. Kirkman 1957 Edward J.Moore 1958 Allan H. Drayner

1959 Raymond J. Cary 1960 Robert E. Homer 1961 David G. DeHaas 1962 Edward W. Carlson

IEEE

1963 Alvord Paull 1964 Kenneth O'Neal 1965 Fred W. Garrison 1966 Robert Hively 1967 William Davis 1968 Glen Eggen 1969 O. Everett Wiedmann 1970 Eric Herz 1971 Frank Martin 1972 Richard K. Walter 1973 Chuck Inskeep 1974 Charles M. Davis 1975 David E. Atkinson 1976 D.L. Knittel 1977 Robert C. Kolb 1978 Frederick G. Suffield 1979 Gary Dunsmore 1980 David Buck 1981 Joseph Birney, 1982 Carl F. Gerle, Jr. 1983 Harlan Faller 1984 Kesh Bakhru 1985 Peter Lanner 1986 F.J.M. Sullivan

1987 Larry Hamerman

Aronstein

Milligan

1988-89 Michael

1989-90 Richard

1990-91 James Bussert 1992-93 Robert Lobbia 1994 Cathy Quick 1995 Hana Abu Salem 1996 Ken Kalbfell 1997 Jim Walker 1998 Steve Adamson 1999 Fred Harris 2000 Stephen Stubberud 2001 Christine Williams 2002 Kathleen Kramer 2003 David Bernardin 2004 Steve Adamson 2005-06 Terry Hache 2007 Anthony Spurgin 2008 Ram Parameswaran 2009-10 Mark Frankfurth 2011-12 Xun Luo 2013-14 Steve Smiley 2015-16 Upkar Dhaliwal 2017-18 Gabriel Alcala 2019-20 Kathy Herring Havashi 2021 Zhensheng Zhang 2022-24 Michelle Thompson



San Diego Section

Annual Awards Luncheon

This annual luncheon event celebrates the IEEE San Diego Section and the contributions of its 2023 leaders with transitions to the 2024 officers.

PROGRAM

Reception with Music 1100 to 1200

Innocenti Strings

Know all the pieces? You might win a prize!

Buffet Lunch 1200 to 1300

Magic Show 1300 to 1330

Joe Mystic

Technical Talk 1330 to 1430

Thomas Lee "Go Big or Go Home"

Awards, Photos, and Installation of Officers

1430 to 1500

IEEE SAN DIEGO SECTION OFFICERS

Executive Committee	2023	2024
Chair	Michelle Thompson	Michelle Thompson
Vice Chair of Publicity	Fred Raddatz	(To Be Announced)
Vice Chair of Programs	Vaishnav Srinivas	Vaishnav Srinivas
Secretary	Lai Xu	Lai Xu
Treasurer	Hua Zhu	Hua Zhu
Members At Large:	William V. Torre	William V. Torre
	Terry Hache	Terry Hache
	Kathleen Kramer	Kathleen Kramer
	Gabriel Alcala	Gabriel Alcala
	Theresa Burke	Upkar Dhaliwal
	Larry Hamerman	Larry Hamerman
	Lingping Ma	Lingping Ma
	Dick Doyle	
Jr. Past Chair	Zhensheng Zhang	Zhensheng Zhang
Sr. Past Chair	Zhensheng Zhang	Zhensheng Zhang



Chapters	2023	2024
AES	Kathleen Kramer, Stephen Stubberud	Stephen Stubberud
AP/CAS/ED/MTT/SSC	Jeff Jianfeng Shi	Jeff Jianfeng Shi
Broadcast BTS		Manuel Guzman
Communications	Upkar Dhaliwal	Upkar Dhaliwal
Computer	Upal Mahbub	Upal Mahbub
Computational Intelligence	Doug Evans	Doug Evans
Consultants Network	David Roble	David Roble, Mike Bryant
Consumer Technology		(Volunteer Needed)
Control Systems	Lai Xu	Lai Xu
EMC	Gabriel Alcala	Gabriel Alcala
Eng Medical Biology		Dr. Alvarez
Electronic Packaging	Paragkumar Thadesar	Paragkumar Thadesar
Industrial Applications		Hassan Baklou
Information Theory	Michelle Thompson	Michelle Thompson
Magnetics	Vitaliy Lomakin	Vitaliy Lomakin
Power Electronics	Saeed Manshadi	Saeed Manshadi
Power & Energy	Fred Raddatz	Hassan Baklou
Product Safety Engineering	Bansi Patel	Bansi Patel
Photonics	Doug Evans	Yossef Ehrlichman
Oceanic Engineering		Gregory Laugle, Jack Gallegos
Reliability		(Volunteer Needed)
Robotics & Automation		Sudip Saha, Ananya Mukherjee
Signal Processing		(To Be Announced)
Vehicular Technology	Lei Sun	Lei Sun

Affinity Groups	2023	2024
Life Member	John Kroon	John Kroon
Young Professional		Kamala Sadagopan
Women In Engineering	Theresa Burke	(To Be Announced)

Other important members include committee chairs and advisors to the UCSD graduate branch, and three San Diego IEEE student branches at SDSU, UCSD, and USD.