



San Diego Section



Annual Awards Luncheon

Saturday, January 19, 2019 12:30 P.M. University of San Diego La Gran Terraza





Annual Awards Luncheon

This annual luncheon event celebrates the IEEE San Diego Section and the contributions of its 2018 leaders with transitions to the 2019 officers.

PROGRAM

12:30	Reception
1:00	Buffet Lunch
1:30	Chairman Opening Remarks Awards Ceremony Recognition of Past Chairs Recognition of Section Officers Installation of Officers 2019 Chair Remarks
2:30	Keynote—Dr. Brian Keating "Losing the Nobel Prize"
3:25	Keynote Recognition Closing Remarks
3:30	Adjournment

KEYNOTE



Dr. Brian KeatingProfessor at the Center for Astrophysics and Space Sciences, UCSD

Keynote: "Losing the Nobel Prize"

About the Keynote Speaker

Dr. Brian Keating is a cosmologist at the University of California San Diego and Principal Investigator of the Simons Observatory collaboration in Chile.. He is the author of more than 100 scientific publications and two U.S. patents. He was a post-doctoral fellow at Stanford and Caltech, and received a 2007 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers for his role in inventing the BICEP telescope. Keating is a commercial pilot with multi-engine, instrument ratings and is a Trustee of the San Diego Air & Space Museum.

Abstract:

What would it have been like to be an eyewitness to the Big Bang? In 2014, astronomers using the powerful BICEP2 telescope at the South Pole thought they'd glimpsed evidence of the period of cosmic inflation at the beginning of time. Millions around the world tuned in to the announcement, and Nobel whispers spread like wild-fire. But had these scientists been deceived by a galactic mirage? In this popular-level talk, cosmologist Brian Keating tells the inside story of BICEP2's detection and the ensuing scientific drama. He provocatively argues that the Nobel Prize actually hampers scientific progress by encouraging speed and competition while punishing inclusivity, collaboration, and bold innovation.

Dr. Keating will autograph copies of his popular book, Losing the Nobel Prize: A Story of Cosmology, Ambition, and the Perils of Science's Highest Honor, selected as one of Amazon's 20 Best Science Books of 2018, after the talk. Limited copies of Losing the Nobel Prize will be available at the talk and also available from Amazon

IEEE SAN DIEGO SECTION OFFICERS

	2018	2019
Executive Committee		
Chairperson	Gabe Alcala	Kathy Herring Hayashi
Vice Chair Publicity	Upkar Dhaliwal	Zhensheng Zhang
Vice Chair Programs	Enrique Monteagudo	Douglass Evans
Secretary	Theresa Burke	Theresa Burke
Treasurer	Rudi Streif	Rudi Streif
Member-at-large	Terry Hache	Terry Hache
Member-at-large	Kathleen Kramer	Kathleen Kramer
Member-at-large	Tony Spurgin	Richard Doyle
Member-at-large	Enrique Monteagudo	Upkar Dhaliwal
Member-at-large	Ken Arnold	Gabe Alcala
Member-at-large	Larry Hamerman	Larry Hamerman
Member-at-large	Hana Merk	William Torre
Member-at-large	Kesh Bakhru	Kesh Bakhru
Jr. Past Chair	Upkar Dhaliwal	Gabe Alcala
Sr. Past Chair	Steve Smiley	Upkar Dhaliwal
Chapter Chairs		
Aerospace/Electronic Systems	Stephen Stubberud	Stephen Stubberud
AP/SSC/MTT/ ED/CAS	Tony Babaian	Alvin Loke
Broadcast Technology	Murat Karsi	Manuel Guzman
Communications	Liangping Ma	Liangping Ma
Computational Intelligence	Douglass Evans	Douglass Evans
Computer Society	Natasha Balac	Natasha Balac
Consumer Electronics	Kathy Herring Hayashi	Kathy Herring Hayashi

	2018	2019
Control Systems	Mike Borrello	Michael Borello
Components, Packaging and Manufacturing	Paragkumar Thadesar	Paragkumar Thadesar
EMC	Yi Cao	Yi Cao
Eng in Med and Bio	Upkar Dhaliwal	Michael Borrello
Engineering Mgmt	Rudi Streif	
Industry Applications	Vahid Salehi	Vahid Salehi
Magnetics	Eric Fullerton	Vitally Lomakin
Nuclear and Plasma	Terry Hache	
Oceanic Engineering	Karen Dubey	
Photonics	Paul de La Houssaye	Paul De La Houssaye
Power and Energy	Hassan Ghoudjehbaklou	Hassan Ghoudjehbaklou
Power Electronics	Nick Abi-Samra	Hassan Ghoudjehbaklou
Product Safety	Leszek Langiewicz	Bansi Patel
Reliability	Richard Doyle	Anthony Spurgin
Robotics and Auto	Doug Evans	Enrique Monteagudo
Signal Processing	Lee Fugal	Gerald Gerace
Vehicular Technology	BK Yi	Byung Yi
Affinity Groups		
Consultants	Alfonso Limon	Alfonso Limon
Life Members	Bill Denke	John Kroon
Women In Engineering	Theresa Burke	Theresa Burke
Young Professionals	Yi Cao	Ken Miyachi
PACE	Kesh Bakhru	Kesh Bakhru
Special Interest Groups		1
Cyber Security	Upkar Dhaliwal	
Big Data S&E	Yongxin Zhang	
Drones	In Formation	
Humanitarian Tech	Xun Luo	
Blockchain		Ken Miyachi

Other important members include committee chairs and advisors to the UCSD graduate branch, and three San Diego IEEE branches at SDSU, UCSD, and USD

IEEE San Diego Section





PAST CHAIRS

IEEE was founded in 1963 through the merger of AIEE and IRE. We honor and thank the following previous San Diego Section Past Chairs

AIEE
1939 L.M. Klauber
1940 F.F. Evenson
1941 Walter L. Bryant
1942 Clem J. Nevitt
1944 Willis T. Johnson
1945 Willis Konline
1946 R.R. Ritchie
1947 Charles F.
McCabe
1948 G.E. Jenner
1949 Herbert A. Cordes
1950 Joseph P. Sinnot
1951 J. Paul Conner
1952 Ormus L. Doolit-
tle
1953 Aylmer H. Keith
1954 I.E. McDougal
1955 E.F. Kotnik
1956 E.B. Love
1957 B.A. Weiss
1958 L.L. LaZelle
1959 M.R. Marston
1960 J.W. Crooks, Jr.

IRE

1961 L.R. Knerr

1962 R.W. Kinslow

1963 Alvord Paull

1945 Edwin B.
Robinson
1946 David C. Kalbfell
1947 Rawson Bennett
1948 Clyde Tirrell
1949 Louise G. Trolese
1950 Everett W.
Thatcher
1951 John P. Day
1952 Victor Welge
1953 Chesney R. Moe
1954 William S. Ivans

1955 Francis X. Byrnes 1956 Robert A. Kirkman 1957 Edward J.Moore 1958 Allan H. Drayner 1959 Raymond J. Cary 1960 Robert E. Homer 1961 David G. DeHaas 1962 Edward W. Carlson

HEEE

1963 Alvord Paull 1964 Kenneth O'Neal 1965 Fred W. Garrison 1966 Robert Hively 1967 William Davis 1968 Glen Eggen 1969 O. Everett Wiedmann 1970 Eric Herz 1971 Frank Martin 1972 Richard K. Walter 1973 Chuck Inskeep 1974 Charles M. Davis 1975 David E. Atkinson 1976 D.L. Knittel 1977 Robert C. Kolb 1978 Frederick G. Suffield 1979 Gary Dunsmore 1980 David Buck 1981 Joseph Birney, 1982 Carl F. Gerle, Jr. 1983 Harlan Faller

1984 Kesh Bakhru 1985 Peter Lanner 1986 F.J.M. Sullivan 1987 Larry Hamerman 1988-89 Michael Aronstein 1989-90 Richard Milligan 1990-91 James Bussert 1992-93 Robert Lobbia 1994 Cathy Quick 1995 Hana Abu Salem 1996 Ken Kalbfell 1997 Jim Walker 1998 Steve Adamson 1999 Fred Harris 2000 Stephen Stubberud 2001 Christine Williams 2002 Kathleen Kramer 2003 David Bernardin 2004 Steve Adamson 2005-06 Terry Hache 2007 Anthony Spurgin 2008 Ram Parameswaran 2009-10 Mark Frankfurth 2011-12 Xun Luo 2013-14 Steve Smiley 2015-16 Upkar Dhaliwal 2017-18 Gabriel

Alcala



♦ IEEE San Diego Section

